“We’re like a tailor for your website”

What does Edit.com do?

I frequently get asked what Edit.com does and I’ve been struggling with a quick and clear answer.  The best I have come up with is “we’re like a tailor for your website,” but that isn’t exactly clear.

If Edit.com was a web design company, the answer would be easy – people get “web designers.”  If we were a SEM company, that would be easy – people get “search engine marketing” or “SEO.”  But we’re neither of those things.

Why do you say “Tailor for your Website?”

Because websites are not one-size fits all, but that’s how many designers and developers treat the sites they create for small businesses.  They don’t take the time to learn about a client’s objectives, obstacles, competitive advantage, etc.  They focus on design or functionality, not the website as a business tool.  The result is a website that doesn’t fit the business it is representing; a website that needs tailoring.

How does one tailor a website?

Via a process of discovery, intelligence gathering, formulating strategic changes, make the changes tangible, and ultimately executing those changes (not too dissimilar from tailoring a suit jacket: measure, de-construct, draw, cut, sew).

Let’s go over these steps in more detail:

Discovery:

This is what I do here at Edit.com and similar to a tailor measuring.  As a Website Consultant, I’m on the front lines in the battle of website effectiveness.  I speak with business owners about their business, their objectives, typical pre-sale interactions with clients, their competitive advantage, and more.  I then work with my team to do an assessment of their site and how well it represents what they’ve told me.  Finally I circle back with the business owner and make recommendation.  We pick one, two, or sometimes three trouble areas to address.

[As an aside, if you’d like to have your website measured for your business, let me know. You can schedule 15 minutes with me by clicking here. That will open up a page where you can view my availability and pick a time that works for you.  It will automatically email me and add the call to my calendar.]

Intelligence Gathering:

This step is similar to the de-construction where a tailor takes a garment apart.  Once a client has signed on to start addressing the poor fit between their website and their business, I hand the project over to our talented team who then dig-in to get a more thorough understanding of the business; focusing around the trouble areas we’re addressing.  For us, this is done via a combination of email and a follow-up phone call.

Action Plan:

Similar to drawing the cut and sew lines, we write up an action plan outlining the specific changes we’re going to make to a client’s site.  For instance, if we’re going to word-smith the homepage content, that will be in the action plan.  If we’re going to rework the titles of the buttons in the navigation bar, that will be in the action plan.  Many of my clients are surprised with the action plan.  Not only is it a real, written plan, but it is pretty damned substantial (typically 7 to 12 pages!).

Execute the Changes:

Here is where my analogy falls a little short.  We don’t do any of the cutting and sewing until we have approval on the action plan (I wish my last tailor worked this way – would have saved a raw-silk sports coat from being butchered!).  But after we have approval, we make the changes and after a thorough round of review by the client and any necessary revisions we bring the updated site live; similar to how a tailor hands you your well fitted sports coat, but not on a hanger.

Does your tailor have a guarantee?

Mine doesn’t (hence my bitterness about the sports coat).  But we do and we flaunt it. If a client isn’t completely satisfied with our work, we’ll either make it right or restore their site to the way it was before we worked on it (I guess a tailor CAN’T do this part) and give them their money back.  You can read the full guarantee at http://www.edit.com/guaranteed-results

Frankly, we’re good so we don’t have to worry about people asking for their money back.  If we did, we wouldn’t be in business very long.  After all, our landlord doesn’t prorate our rent based on our performance; our developers and project managers still deserve to be paid.

In closing…

The irony that my post on explaining my short explanation is over 700 words is not lost on me.  But that is why I struggle to quickly and clearly explain what we do.  I’m open to suggestions.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

