What Happened to the Water Guy?

Today’s post is more of a allegory than a post directly website effectiveness for professional service providers, but bear with me.

It was a dark and stormy Monday

No, seriously, it was raining really hard here in Brooklyn on Monday when the water delivery guy made his regular delivery.   What I don’t understand is what happened after he left our office.  There’s a mystery brewing here!

Our water deliver is pretty straight forward.  Just drop off a few jugs, but this week we specifically requested a rack to hold the bottles.  (We had one in our previous office, but since moving to our new location in March, they have just been leaving 2 rows of bottles on the floor.)

The mystery I’m writing about starts with the delivery guy’s jacket and hat.  He shed them in our office, and two days latter, they’re still here.  Again, it was POURING on Monday so I would have thought he would have realized “hey, I’m getting soaked.  Where is my jacket?” and retraced his steps to find it.

But the mystery doesn’t end there.  It spilled-out to the hallway.  A hallway we share with a handful of other businesses (including DIY-Marketplace-Superstar Etsy).   Between our office and the washrooms there is a freight elevator, and on either sides of the doors to this elevator are a dozen or so empty 5 gallon water bottles.  Like the jacket and hat in our office, they have been there since Monday.

Duh-duh-DUH!  What happened to the water guy? I hope I don’t see a Law and Order episode about this.

What does this have to do with Intelligent Websites?

In my job I hear all sorts of missing person stories.  Typically it is around the developer or designer who never completed a job.  Regardless of the story I hear (got a real job (this one kills me – “oh, you we’re paying them real money for a not-real job?”), got sick, got deported (yes, I really heard that one too), just disappeared) they all leave me scratching my head – just like the jacket and hat still sitting by our water-cooler.

I typically advocate companies work with a reputable company (one that has an A+ rating on www.bbb.org like Edit.com,) but this water company (again I’m keeping their name out of the post but it rhymes with Mold and Things) is a reputable company.  So I guess even that isn’t a guarantee if their people just disappear.

To some extent,  a leap of faith is always necessary.  You just need to make the most educated leap that you can.

But seriously, what happened to the water guy?  This is really weird!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Penelia on October 1, 2010 - 4:38 pm

    Did anyone find out about the water guy? Call Mold & Things stat!

  2. #2 by Yeah on October 7, 2010 - 8:38 pm

    Was there a ransom note?

    • #3 by intelligentwebs on October 7, 2010 - 8:46 pm

      Ha ha! No ransome note. Jacket and hat are still here. One of my colleagues had a few good points, however:
      a) The loading doc is covered, so he probably didn’t get wet leaving our office
      b) The company that rhymes with “Mold and Things” would have noticed if their employee and truck didn’t return

      So, probably no mystery here.

  3. #4 by Yeah on October 7, 2010 - 9:24 pm

    What if it was an invisible ransom note?

Leave a Reply

